Olsen is honored with Stange Award for Meritorious Service

daryl stange award

posted on Monday, October 29, 2018 in AMVC Veterinarians in the News

Dr. Daryl Olsen, D.V.M., a 1982 graduate of Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine, was honored by the college with the Stange Award for Meritorious Service on Friday, October 26.

The Stange Award for Meritorious Service in Veterinary Medicine is the highest award presented to distinguished alumni by Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine. The award is presented annually for outstanding professional achievement in the areas of education, government, industry, practice or other professional endeavors in veterinary medicine. 

Dr. Olsen, a senior partner at AMVC, always had a vision of what a veterinary practice should be. Like all practices, it would focus on the health and welfare of the patients. But Olsen believed in the future of food animal medicine should also include a focus on the health and welfare of the clients' businesses.

That vision led Olsen to transform the traditional mixed animal veterinary practice he joined in 1982 into a multi-species veterinary practice with a division that provides management services for independent swine producers throughout the United States. Today, AMVC employs 19 veterinarians and more than 600 employees, providing services to help swine producers compete in a dynamic industry.

Then and now, Olsen has remained committed to preserving the future of the veterinary profession and the swine industry. Olsen was instrumental in the development of the college's Swine Medicine Education Center, which provides education and training opportunities for students and practicing veterinarians. He is an active member of the American Association of Swine Veterinarians (AASV), where he has served in numerous leadership roles including president and chairman of the board of the AASV Foundation. Currently, he is the president of the national Swine Health Information Center Board of Directors. In 2010, he received the college's Science with Practice Award, recognizing his contributions to the profession.

As a leader in the community, Olsen currently serves on the board of directors for the Audubon State Bank. He recently completed a six-year term on the Audubon County Community Foundation board of directors. In 2007, he received the Citizen of the Year award from the Audubon Chamber of Commerce.

Article credit to: 
Copyright © 2018
Iowa State University
of Science and Technology.


  1. aasv
  2. amvc veterinarian
  3. award