Five Employees Graduate from Leadership Development Program

2021 AMVC LDP Class

posted on Friday, August 27, 2021 in Central Region News

Audubon, IA – Recently, five AMVC employees graduated from AMVC’s Leadership Development Program (LDP). These individuals applied, interviewed, and were selected to participate in the elite year-long program.

Established in 2015, the LDP program was created to foster the growth and development of individuals who are passionate about their careers in the swine industry. Participants attended bi-monthly training sessions at AMVC Management Services’ headquarters. They gained a deeper understanding of their personal skillset and on-farm technical skills needed to manage a sow farm. In between sessions, the LDP employees applied what they learned at their sow farm.

The 2021 LDP class participated in six sessions covering animal flows, barn ventilation and maintenance, data interpretation, and personal development using the DiSC model. Participants said their favorite part of the program was receiving hands-on training and discussing production methods with other farms and program participants.

The employees who completed the program represented six different farms from three states. This year’s graduates included:

  • Kelsie Thomas – Elk Horn, IA
  • Fernando Aviles – Bottineau, ND
  • Jerric Valmocina – Audubon, IA
  • Margarita Zuniga – Audubon, IA
  • Emma Washburn – Dayton, OH

“This group has demonstrated an excitement to apply what they’ve learned immediately. Many of them have taken on new roles within the company over the past year, and they will continue to challenge themselves.” commented leadership program coordinator Mike Mullady.

AMVC is invested in the future of the swine industry and is committed to helping develop the leaders of tomorrow. AMVC Management Services, a diversified swine management company, employs over 700 people and has a swine management presence in ten states.

Pictured left to right: Margarita Zuniga, Kelsie Thomas, Mike Mullady, Jerric Valmocina, Emma Washburn, and Fernando Aviles.


  1. our team